leedock’s CBR-III Review #33-“Bloodshot” – Cherie Priest

Cherie Priest, what is it about you? Boneshaker was a great book and I keep thinking you’ll live up to it. Thinking don’t make it so.

Raylene is a vampire and a cat burglar that is hired by a fellow vamp to obtain his file from a secret government program that left him blind. Instead of a smash and grab, she gets involved in all kinds of crazy shit with the military, a drag queen, and of all things, parkour. It’s the kitchen sink of books. I’m not sure what else to say about. Much like my review of  Dreadnought, I found the characters interesting. Having a vampire that isn’t all whiny about being a vampire or mesmerized by everyone’s jugular was a nice change of pace. An ex-military drag queen hiding from secret ops and a blind vampire with a seeing eye human offered some promise. In the end, though, I just didn’t care that much about them. Again, something was missing for me and I can’t put my finger on it. Interesting doesn’t necessarily mean likable and maybe that’s it. I wasn’t rooting for anyone or particularly invested in their survival with the exception of two homeless kids that squatted in Raylene’s warehouse.

I don’t read  detective stories, so I tend to think of them in a stereotypically pulpy “She walked into my office” kind of way. Priest’s book reads a lot like that, or rather infuses a lot of that into an otherwise paranormal plot line. Bloodshot is Vampire cat burglar meets hardboiled detective. There are so many instances of dialogue that lean toward a, “it was a dark night, see, and I was all out of matches…” convention that parts of the book seemed more farce and less slick vampire urban fantasy. I should have seen it coming when all of the author quotes on the back cover were for Boneshaker and not the book in question.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

