Author Archives: leedock

“First they convinced them that the afterlife is even better than Disneyland.” – Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi

CBR11 BINGO: Illustrated (BINGO! Reading the TBR corner to Cannonballer Says corner) First, I want to say that the un-athletic yet competitive side of me is totally appreciating this BINGO situation. I enjoyed it last year, but I was less … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“It’s not the bad people who are brave I fear, it’s the good people who are afraid.” – American Sonnets for My Past and Future Assassin by Terrance Hayes

CBR11BINGO: Not My Wheelhouse (BINGO! I Love This! corner to Award Winner corner) I read across a lot of genres, but I haven’t read poetry since I was in college a million years ago. Taking “Not My Wheelhouse” to mean … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

“We live over and over in the happening only to be left with what’s already done.” – Call Your Daughter Home by Deb Spera

CBR11 BINGO: History Schmistory (BINGO! Reading the TBR corner to Summer Read corner) Set in the American south in the 1920’s, this novel fits nicely into the “History Schmistory” square. Just a generation into rebuilding after the civil war and … Continue reading

Posted in CBR11, Fiction, Historical Fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“…every single beautiful lie he had been told during the course of his childhood…” – Werewolves in Their Youth by Michael Chabon

CBR11 BINGO: The Collection (BINGO! Remix corner to Summer Read corner) I don’t generally read very many short story collections. I like to dig into a story and often short fiction robs me of that a little bit. I’m invested … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

“They hammer, they slash. They do not study.” – Ragnarok: The End of the Gods by A. S. Byatt

CBR11 BINGO: Remix (Retelling of Norse Myths) A.S. Byatt is an author that I find difficult and I can only tackle one of her novels every so often when I feel I am up to the task. It’s always worth … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“The spotted custard was the kind of place where exceptions were made, because everyone was strange and exceptional.” – Reticence by Gail Carriger

CBR BINGO: Love This I have been a huge Gail Carriger fan now for a decade. Yep. That’s when she started rolling out her “Parasol Protectorate” series. I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE those books and pretty much adore the “Custard Protocol” … Continue reading

Posted in Fiction, Science Fiction | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment

“I was born reaching for her.” – Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

I was super excited when I got my hands on this at the library. The title popped up as recommended all over my book apps and emails. Fans of Harry Potter, V.E. Schwab, and Lev Grossman’s Magician’s trilogy were into … Continue reading

Posted in CBR11, Fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment