Category Archives: CBR11

“We live over and over in the happening only to be left with what’s already done.” – Call Your Daughter Home by Deb Spera

CBR11 BINGO: History Schmistory (BINGO! Reading the TBR corner to Summer Read corner) Set in the American south in the 1920’s, this novel fits nicely into the “History Schmistory” square. Just a generation into rebuilding after the civil war and … Continue reading

Posted in CBR11, Fiction, Historical Fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“I was born reaching for her.” – Magic for Liars by Sarah Gailey

I was super excited when I got my hands on this at the library. The title popped up as recommended all over my book apps and emails. Fans of Harry Potter, V.E. Schwab, and Lev Grossman’s Magician’s trilogy were into … Continue reading

Posted in CBR11, Fiction | Tagged , | Leave a comment

“This wasn’t the conversation I was trying to have.” -Conversations with Friends by Sally Rooney

I read Rooney’s “Normal People” a couple of months ago and it is, easily, one of the best books that I have read this year. I wish, however, that I had read this book BEFORE I read “Normal People.” In … Continue reading

Posted in CBR11, Fiction | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

“Without shelter, we stand in daylight.” – Unsheltered by Barbara Kingsolver

CBR11 Bingo: Science! I am not a science-y person, but I am a pretty avid gardener. Having spent a lot of time playing in the dirt, coaxing plant life to flourish and googling to find out what bug is terrorizing … Continue reading

Posted in CBR11, Fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“First we only want to be seen…After that, we want to be remembered.” – Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel

CBR11 BINGO: Cannonballer Says Since CBR6, Cannonballers have been (mostly) raving about this book. It was a CBR7 book club selection, faintingviolet read it more than once and the list of Cannonball reviews is over 34 and spanning CBR6 to … Continue reading

Posted in CBR11, Fiction | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

“I am a liability” – 99 Percent Mine by Sally Thorne

I read and loved “The Hating Game” based on many great reviews from fellow Cannonballers. I snatched this one up as soon as I saw it on the new book shelves at the library. It’s the perfect summer book and … Continue reading

Posted in CBR11, Fiction, Romance | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

She was my other half when I had not realized I was incomplete – “A Dangerous Collaboration” by Deanna Raybourn

As soon as Goodreads alerts me that a new Veronica Speedwell mystery is coming out, I immediately put in a request at the library. Thankfully, most of the folks that utilize my library either are ill informed about the publishing … Continue reading

Posted in CBR11, Fiction, Mystery | Tagged , | Leave a comment